Wildtierauffangstation und -rehabilitation

Das Museum nimmt verwundete oder konfiszierte Wildtiere auf und wildert sie in Gebieten aus, wo sie gute Lebensbedingungen vorfinden.

Linda am Tag, als sie gerettet wurden.

Gerettete Hyäne 'Linda'

In May 2019, PMNH was approached by the Palestinian Environmental Quality Authority with a Striped Hyena cub, named 'Linda' by the museum staff. The hyena had been seized from Hebron, where she was being sold on the internet. As Linda was only about four months old when she arrived at the museum and no longer had a family, it was unlikely she would survive if released at that stage. The staff decided to keep Linda at the museum until she was old enough to fend for herself, and quickly created an enclosure to house her.

Linda geniesst ihren Mittagsschlaf.

Die beschränkten Flächenverhqltnisse am PMNH machten es schwierig, Linda mit den Fähigkeiten auszustatten, die für das Überleben in der Wildnis notwendig sind. Mitarbeiter und Freiwillige bereiteten Linda auf ihre Freilassung vor, indem sie Futter in Kisten rund um das Gehege versteckten. Damit sollte sie ihren Geruchssinn schärfen. Trotz ihres jungen Alters grub sich Linda auch eine Höhle unter dem Olivenbaum in ihrem Gehege.

Linda wurde im Februar 2020 freigelassen, als sie etwas über ein Jahr alt war. Sie wurde in einen Käfig gelockt, bevor sie in eine ländliche Gegend gefahren und freigelassen wurde. Das Museumspersonal kam eine Woche später zurück, um mehr Futter für Linda zu hinterlassen. Pfotenabdrücke, die in der Nähe des Freilassungsortes beobachtet wurden, deuten darauf hin, dass es Linda in ihrem neuen Zuhause gut geht.

Linda wird ausgewildert.
Die schöne Linda.

Streifen-Hyäne hyaena hyaena

Gestreifte Hyänen sind in einer Vielzahl von Lebensräumen zu finden, darunter Berge, Grasland und Buschwälder. Sie werden normalerweise etwa 12 Jahre alt, obwohl sie in Gefangenschaft viel länger leben können. Hyänen sind hauptsächlich Aasfresser.

Die Gestreifte Hyäne ist in einem weiten Verbreitungsgebiet anzutreffen, aber mit einer abnehmenden Population von nur noch 5000 - 10.000 erwachsenen Individuen stuft die IUCN die Art als "potenziell gefährdet" ein. Gründe dafür sind der Straßenverkehr und die Jagd. Auch die Trennmauer ist für Hyänen schädlich, da sie ihre Bewegungsfreiheit einschränkt und ihren Lebensraum fragmentiert. Mythen führen auch dazu, dass Menschen Hyänen fürchten und ihnen gelegentlich Schaden zufügen, aber in Wirklichkeit sind Hyänen in der Regel sehr scheu gegenüber Menschen. Die Mitarbeiter und Freiwilligen des PMNH mussten besonders vorsichtig sein, um zu verhindern, dass Linda domestiziert wird, denn sie schien Bindungen zu mehreren Menschen aufzubauen!

Der Adler in der Nacht, als er aufgenommen wurde.

Steinadler

An einem späten Dezemberabend 2019 wurde ein kranker Steinadler in Beit Sahour im Appartment der Qumsiyeh's abgegeben. Das Tier hatte Teile einer vergifteten Ziege gegessen, die als Köder für Hyänen ausgelegt worden war. Es war sehr schwach und von einem Tourguide aufgefunden worden, der es zum Hause Qumsiyeh brachte.

Der Adler verbrachte mehrere Tage am Museum, wo er gefüttert und umsorgt wurde. In dieser Zeit kehrten langsam seine Kräfte wieder. Bereits nach einer Woche war das Tier stark genug, um entlassen zu werden. Mitarbeiter und Freiwillige des PMNH und der Environment Quality Authority (EQA) sahen ihm zu, wie er über dem Hügelland von Nablus dahingleitet.

Steinadler Aquila chrysaetos

Mit einer Spannweite von weit über zwei Metern, gehört der Steinadler zu den größeren Greifvögeln der nördlichen Hemisphäre. In der Wildnis erreichen diese Tiere ein Alter von bis zu 30 Jahren. Weltweit wird der Bestand auf 125.000 Brutpaare geschätzt und von der IUCN als „nicht gefährdet“ eingestuft.

Der Steinadler fliegt in die Freiheit.

Animal rescue and rehabilitation

The museum has rescued many animals and released them to the wild.

Linda on the day she was rescued.

Rescued Hyena 'Linda'

In May 2019, PMNH was approached by the Palestinian Environmental Quality Authority with a Striped Hyena cub, named 'Linda' by the museum staff. The hyena had been seized from Hebron, where she was being sold on the internet. As Linda was only about four months old when she arrived at the museum and no longer had a family, it was unlikely she would survive if released at that stage. The staff decided to keep Linda at the museum until she was old enough to fend for herself, and quickly created an enclosure to house her.

Linda enjoying an afternoon nap.

Limited land at PMNH made it difficult to equip Linda with the skills needed for survival in the wild. However, staff and volunteers helped prepare Linda for her release by hiding food in boxes around the enclosure to help Linda develop her sense of smell. Despite her young age, Linda also dug a burrow for herself under the olive tree in her enclosure.

Linda was released in February 2020, when she was just over a year old. She was coaxed into a cage before being driven to a rural area and released. Museum staff returned a week later to leave more food for Linda. Pawprints observed near the site of release suggest that Linda is doing well in her new home.

Linda being released.
The lovely Linda.

Striped Hyena hyaena hyaena

Striped Hyenas are found in a variety of habitats, including mountains, grasslands, and scrub woodlands. They usually live for about 12 years, although they can live much longer in captivity. Hyenas are mostly scavengers.

The Striped Hyena is found over a wide range, but with a declining population of only 5000 - 10,000 mature individuals, the IUCN classes the species as 'near threatened'. Reasons for this include road traffic and hunting. The separation wall is also harmful to hyenas as it restricts their movement and fragments their habitat. Myths also cause people to fear and occasionally harm hyenas, but in reality hyenas are usually very timid towards humans. Staff and volunteers at PMNH had to take extra care to stop Linda becoming domesticated as she seemed to be forming attachments to several people!

The Eagle on the night she was rescued.

Golden Eagle

Late one evening in December 2019, a sick Golden Eagle was bought to the Qumsiyeh's apartment in Beit Sahour. The eagle had eatened part of a goat's carcass that had been poisoned, with the intention of killing hyenas. The eagle was very weak, and had been found by a tour guide who bought her to the Qumsiyeh's to be cared for.

The eagle spent several days at the museum, where she was fed and cared for while she slowly regained her strength. After about a week, the eagle was strong enough to be released. Staff and volunteers from PMNH and the EQA watched as the eagle soared away over the mountains of Nablus.

Golden Eagle Aquila chrysaetos

An enormous bird of prey, the Golden Eagle has a wingspan of over two metres and lives for up to 30 years in the wild. The Golden Eagle has a very large range, and is found in Asia, Europe, North America, and parts of northern Africa. It is classed as 'least concern' by the IUCN, but is uncommon throughout its range.

The Golden Eagle is released.